Chocolate Chip Cookies and last day of school

Today from 5-8 I have my last class of my undergraduate education. Whoa. It is a potluck. So naturally, like any other student (ok, maybe not like any other student) I decided to bake something. I was a little uninspired and wanted to go for something rather straightforward, especially because I did not have all that much time. Additionally, I was baking in the AM and they are going to be consumed in the PM, so they have to last aaaalllll day. So, whats something simple and sweet that everybody loves? Chocolate Chip Cookies of course!

I did not follow a fancy recipe. I picked up a bag of Ghirardelli semi sweet chocolate chips (because they are vegan/dairy free. Definitely not my chocolate chip of choice) and followed the recipe on the back. Why buy vegan chocolate chips if I am about to engulf them in butter and eggs? Because I have no idea what kind of diary they use, whereas I used Clover Organic Butter and Vital Farms Eggs, which all score highly on the Cornucopia Institute’s Scorecards. (note the scorecards tab in the upper right)

The 2 things that I did adjust from the recipe were: 1) instead of walnuts I used a combination of crushed salted peanuts and almonds and 2) I had no brown sugar so I added 1/2 a tablespoon of molasses. I also halved the recipe. I suppose the salt in the nuts means that these are now “Salted Nutty Chocolate Chip Cookies”.

Ingredients (for 2 dozen cookies) (adapted from Ghirardelli)

DSCN3030

  • 1 and 1/8 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick butter (1/2 cup) softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 Tbs molases (a little more or less will probably be OK)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 nuts, chopped

DSCN3033

Method

  • preheat oven to 375
  • sift the flour with the salt and baking soda into a bowl
  • in a separate bowl, cream the butter with the sugar until its…creamy. add the molasses and mix it in
  • add the vanilla and egg and continue to mix until its all incorporated
  • add the dry ingredients (I did it in 3 batches) and keep on mixing until its all incorporated
  • fold in the chocolate chips and the nuts
  • taste the batter, of course. exercise self control and try not to eat the whole thing
  • drop tablespoon onto an un greased cookie sheet. I greased my cookie sheet. I also did not drop tablespoons of batter, rather I rolled tablespoon sized balls and slightly flattened them with my hand
  • bake for 9-11 minutes until golden brown. Always go for less time (9mins) if you are unsure because they will harden as they cool.
raw dough

raw dough

baked dough

baked dough

I have not yet tasted them (waiting for the potluck tonight) but they smelled amazing when they were baking. The cookie dough tasted good enough, and whats not to like about cookies? I’m hoping the salted nuts will act in my favor.

Leave a Reply

