soba noodles with brussels sprouts meatballs

I love peanut butter. I also love brussels sprouts which, along with beets and yams, I used to hate. I also am a fan of using silken tofu to make creamy sauces. I also had some soba noodles in the pantry. I also had some yummy fresh lettuce mix from the farmers market. Combine all the above…inspiration has struck!!!

I used the tofu and peanut butter to make peanut sauce. I recently uncovered the immersion blender and was curious to use in on the silken tofu as opposed to the food processor which is annoying to wash. First I chopped and browned 3 cloves of garlic. In a bowl I combined tofu, about 3 tablespoons of peanut butter, soy sauce, Trader Joe’s “south african smoke”, a bit of mustard, and a bit of curry powder. And in went the immersion blender. It was surprisingly successful, the sauce turned out creamy, with maybe a few visible pieces of tofu. The trade off between slightly lumpy and less dish washing was worth it to me.

While all this was going on, I had the frozen brussels sprouts boiling in a pot so they were ready to be added into the peanut sauce. One this was done, the last thing was cooking the soba noodles which only take 4 minutes at a boil. I like soba noodles, their texture is similar to pasta, a little less slimy perhaps and they are half wheat flour and half buckwheat so they’ve got a slightly more complex flavor. I added the cooked noodles into the peanut sauce/brussels sprouts concoction. The brussels sprouts most definitely looked like green meatballs. As an afterthought I grabbed the bag of greens from the farmers market and wilted them ever so slightly in the same pan I used to brown the garlic. And then I added them to the mix. Here is the final product:

Leave a Reply

