happy spring break!

finally…midterms returned, classes over, sun is out…break is here. No more of this:

I did relatively well on midterms, lower than I am used to, but still good. That means my lowest grade was an A-, even on those exams which in all honesty I thought I got a C on. Yes, I always say that, but this time I was serious. The other times that I say I am going to fail, I am just lying. Last night was DejaVu of last week: same bar, same people…only difference was that we were rejoicing instead of suppressing our anxiety over poor midterm performance. And, I arrived home to find a stack of 8 coasters in my hood thank to an ongoing prank done by my dear friend. It is now the newest addition to my wall decor at home.

I get to pack tonight for AltBreaks! Leaving tomorrow for a weeks worth of farming and ranching adventures. Chicken farm, dairy farm, veggie farm, oyster farm. people, driving in vans, sleeping bags, church basements, sack lunches, communal dinners, gym showers, reflections, reading, writing, and all the good stuff. I am excited, but nervous too. Excited to go see and explore where food comes from in order to gain a deeper appreciation for food as food and not anything more then that and being around people who view it as such. Nervous for the same exact reasons, and what if I hate farming?

I ventured to Alcatraz last weekend with my mentee and a group of other students/mentors/mentees. It was…a blast. I had never been, and always wanted to be all touristy on Alcatraz. Naturally, I could not pass up this opportunity to go AND take someone with me who usually does not have the opportunity to go on random excursions. Bundled up in layers…bart-ed over into the city…where I proceeded to re-fall in love with it. [ok, dramatic words, but I cannot explain why I love SF so much. every time I go, without fail, my heart skips a beat and flutters in my throat and…I’ll stop now]
Anyways, Alcatraz was pretty nifty, I had no idea that it was the site of a Native American occupation (which is one of the first things you see graffitied onto the building). Walked through the penitentiary, saw the cells, the cafeteria, the library, the operators room, the escape routes. Its a little creepy, and now it seems silly that a jail is a huge tourist attraction. I think the cutest question of the day was “did they know they were gonna be famous when they came here?”
It was very rewarding to see my mentee gradually open up over the course of the day and eventually smile and enjoy herself and then tell me that this is the best weekend she ever had.

It is time to pick classes again…that dreaded time where I feel that once again my entire future is dependent on the choice that I make for next year. The biggest question of course is “should I do a senior honors thesis?” [and if so, wtf should it be on?] The difficulty here is, not only do I not know what I want to do after graduation, but I don’t even know if I want to do a thesis just for the sake of thesis-izing. I mean, regardless of future plans, if I had a strong and undying urge to write a thesis, I would. But at the same time, I don’t have an urge to NOT do one. I suppose I am rather indifferent, and to top it off, none of the sociology classes sound extraordinarily exciting to me that I may as well spend a year researching something I find important or exhilarating. And its an experience I will never have again, right? ugh, I hate decisions. I may as well apply…because I may not even get selected. Should I be an ALtBreaks trip leader? should I take more ballet classes? should I just do the bare minimum and scrape by with a 2.0? (as if that would ever happen…)

I am quite shocked by how fast this semester is going…I had a list of things I wanted to do, of which I accomplished possibly 1 thing. oops. but at the same time, I feel like I am always busy, but I don’t think I do very much. Maybe the reason I always feel busy is because my head is always going a mile a minute and future tripping even if I am just laying in bed (pondering what I want or should do now, later, today, this week…) but I am really excited for this summer and being back and forth between berkeley and LA and exploring both a bit more.

Bittersweet cafe is my new discovery where they serve the most amazing richest chocolatiest hot chocolate ever. and they have different flavors: mocha, regular, bittersweet, peppermint, peanut butter, chai, and spicy!!! and baked goods and chocolates and ice cream and homemade marshmallows and cute furniture. Its a good thing that its a ways down college, or else I would be there everyday, maybe twice a day, and turn into a truffle by the end of the month. good times.

Freehouse is a restaurant/bar right by campus that I also ventured to for the first time. It is pretty nifty looking, like an awesome castle with little paths and steps leading up to the arched front door. Inside there are medieval looking chandeliers, a fireplace, couches, a pool table…it does feel like a mini castle of sorts. Did not try the food (8-14$), it looked alright enough. Did not try the cocktails (8$), however they sounded amazing…they have a menu of classic ones (old fashioned, blood and sand, manhattan, negroni, whiskey sour etc) and then some modern concoctions. the beer and whiskey menu is extensive too (5-18$ if you are getting really fancy). Red wine, white wine too (5$, that’s what I had)It’s a good spot indeed, to hang out in a leisurely manner and sip a fancy drink.

well, to spring break and food justice and sustainability, cheers.

Leave a Reply

