carob chips and veggie bears

This three day weekend was quite the lovely combination of homework, gatherings, and the realization of being in a new city by myself. I am actually living in berkeley, buying my own toilet paper, and managing my life however I see fit and creating it according to my wants and needs and values. Its exciting. Its scary as hell.

Because I had been so busy with moving out, settling in, and all things berkeley, I didn’t have a moment to just sit down, breathe and begin to digest the rapid changes of the past month or so. Until yesterday when I did have a moment to just sit down, breathe and begin to digest the rapid changes of the past month or so. And not gonna lie, it was kinda hard, and a little sucky, and I missed certain people and even certain places (such as intelligentsia and the beautiful hipsters of silverlake). To remedy the situation, I cried on the phone to my mom, took a scalding hot shower, busted out my journal, and consumed carob chips and sunshine bears aka vegan gummy bears which are the most delicious thing in the world.

One thing I started doing, which never in my life did I ever think I would, is homework in bed. *gasp!* me, homework in my bed? thats unheard of. Homework, since I remember having homework, has always been done at my desk. What happened? A combination of several factors. first off, homework is mostly obscene amounts of reading so being at my desk I feel odd and rather stiff if i’m not writing or typing away. Second, my mom got me a lap desk, which I must put to use. Third, my room seems to be colder than any other room, and I need the warmth of my down comforter. So is that what grown ups do…homework in bed?

Other then that, most of my habits remained the same: I put things away when I’m done with them. All my trinkets have a proper place on the shelf. I can’t go to sleep without getting my things ready for the next day. I eat at the table (if I ever get to the point of eating in bed, please call the authorities). I make sure I am up at a reasonable time every day. Post it notes and lists consume 1/4 of the surface area of my desk.

One thing that makes me sad is the weather. Its sunny, but still crisp out. I have not worn anything less then a sweater since moving here. I wonder how this will effect me over the long term. Perhaps I should invest in a sun lamp.

Today for labor day, a pizza making extravaganza was planned and properly carried out. I made the dough from scratch, toppings were contributed (vegan cheese included!) and fun was had by all. It was a much needed break from the books.

Leave a Reply

